What is an Intern to do in NYC on the 4th of July?

Go to Coney Island and watch the Hot-dog Eating contest of course!

So I made my way down there with a friend in town; planned on getting there early enough so we both could get some good seats. After getting there two hours before the show we were met with a huge cast of characters who had figured that two hours was not early enough. Luckily I was able to talk my way into getting a media pass for me and a VIP pass for my friend. So bring on the show. I took a ton of pictures and here are a few select ones from the day.

 

The most coveted prize in Major League eating. 

 

Reigning champion Joey Chestnut again took the mustard colored belt home this year in the first recorded overtime victory.

 

Takeru Kobayashi the man who many people say brought competitive eating to a whole new level holds man world records for eating including cow brains and rice-balls. 

 

A battle to the bitter end, Kobayashi took the lead until Chestnut turned up the heat and tied it up at the end of the regulation ten minutes. 

 

“Humble Bob” works his way through his hot dogs during the contest. 

 

 

Chestnut brought home the trophy and the belt for the second consecutive year in front of 35,000 screaming fans. 

 

All photos property of Patrick Siller.

Leave a comment